A New Era at the Fragrance Foundation Awards 2013

FF Awards 1Elizabeth Musmanno with Dana Carvey

A sharp-witted host who could celebrate and decimate the industry in equal measure: check. Appearances by a cross-section of international superstars (Taylor Swift) and emerging figures in the worlds of design, art, fashion and literature: check. A landmark venue further enhanced by stunning visuals—of flowers being snipped and spun in glorious slow motion: check.

The Fragrance Foundation Awards 2013 ticked all the boxes at the industry’s biggest night of the year—the first ceremony conceived under the stewardship of new president, Elizabeth Musmanno. The awards were hosted by Dana Carvey at Lincoln Center on June 12, and featured appearances by Dita Von Teese, Andre Leon Tally and Inaugural Poet Richard Blanco, among others.

Without any of the technical hiccups of years’ past, Carvey kept a rapt audience roaring—hypothesizing, for instance, that if Governor Chris Christie were to create a fragrance, the juice might aptly be named Ravenous.

The trimming of certain categories made room for the addition of a first-ever Perfumer of the Year Lifetime Achievement award—presented to Firmenich’s Alberto Morillas by the company’s CEO, Patrick Firmenich.

Allure’s editor in chief, Linda Wells, who quipped she’d been in love with fragrances “since I first inhaled Playdough,” was the first-ever editor inductee into the organization’s Hall of Fame. Wells was presented by Nashville starlet (and hair icon) Connie Britton.

Taylor SwiftScott Beattie with Taylor Swift

An ethereal Swift swept onstage bedecked in a long white gown and elegant topknot to accept Fragrance Celebrity of the Year honors from Elizabeth Arden chief Scott Beattie. While her first fragrance, Wonderstruck, was inspired by fantasy and romantic ideals, she said, a forthcoming launch, simply dubbed Taylor, aims to authentically depict her life in the moment.

Another Arden colossus, Justin Bieber, took home awards for his Girlfriend fragrance—in both the Women’s Consumer Choice and Women’s Popular Fragrance of the Year categories. Arden’s cult-classic Red Door scent was also added to the Fragrance Hall of Fame.

Coty Prestige and P&G Prestige took home a trio of awards each. Coty’s Florabotanica fragrance was honored for both Best Women’s Packaging of the Year and Women’s Luxury Fragrance of the Year, with the company’s just-named SVP of corporate communications, Catherine Walsh, accepting on behalf of former Balenciaga creative director, Nicolas Ghesquière.

Coty’s group VP of global marketing, Lori Singer, accepted the Women’s Prestige Fragrance of the Year on behalf of DOT Marc Jacobs.

P&G Prestige swept the Men’s and Women’s Media Campaign of the Year categories—with Dolce & Gabbana nabbing both honors for its The One For Men Sport and Pour Femme fragrances, respectively. Dennis Curran, president of P&G Prestige North America, shouted out his predecessor, current Parlux president Donald Loftus, in a moving commendation from the podium.

P&G’s James Bond 007 fragrance also won Men’s Popular Fragrance of the Year.


2 FF Awards 3 FF Awards 4 FF Awards
Claudia Lucas with Jill Belasco Connie Britton and Linda Wells Jerome Epinette and Dita Von Teese with Pierre Wulff
5 FF Awards 6 FF Awards 7 FF Awards
Patrick Firmenich and Elizabeth Musmanno with Alberto Morillas Vogue’s Andre Leon Talley with The Fragrance Foundation’s Elizabeth Musmanno. KaufmanFranco’s Isaac Franco and Ken Kaufman (r.)with The Fragrance Foundation’s Elizabeth Musmanno and Jessica Szohr.
8 FF Awards 9 FF Awards 10 FF Awards
Coty’s Marc Rey and Jean Mortier with Scott Beattie of Elizabeth Arden. The Estée Lauder Companies’ Veronique Gabai-Pinsky, Coty’s Catherine Walsh and Jane Larkworthy of W. Firmenich’s Theo Spilka with John Demsey of
The Estée Lauder Companies.
11 FF Awards 12 FF Awards 13 FF Awards
The Estée Lauder Companies’ Caroline Geerlings. Elizabeth Arden’s Tamara Steele, Robin Mason, Kathy Widmer and Noreen Dodge. IFF’s Nicolas Mirzayantz and Anahita Mekanik with Elizabeth Arden’s Vincenzo Carrara and Arthur Pellegrino.
14 Ff Awards FF Awards 16 FF Awards
The Estée Lauder Companies’ Stephane de la Faverie with Amy Fisher of Elizabeth Arden. Elizabeth Arden’s Radhika Prakash, Karen Huntoon and Christina Campisi. Cosmopolitan’s Donna Kalajian Lagani with
The Estée Lauder Companies’ Carol Russo and Dena Nilsen and Laurie Dowley of Elizabeth Arden.
17 FF Awards 18 FF Awards 19 FF Awards
Firmenich’s Armand de Villoutreys with Serge Jureidini of Arcade and Coty’s Marc Rey and Jean Mortier. Francesca and Jerry Vittoria of Firmenich with Coty’s Lori Singer. Toria Garrett and Dabee Kaye of Lucky with Coty’s Tennille Kopiasz.
20 FF Awards 21 FF Awards 22 FF Awards
Coty’s Ruth Sutcliffe and Lorrie King (r.) with Westly Morris of Mane. Coty’s Daniel Clarke with Firmenich’s Joanne Halev, Cutler Whitman of Fragrance Resources and Arcade’s Eric Dalbo and Philippe Ughetto. Vanity Fair’s Sunhee Grinnell with Jordan Stenmark and Alexandre Choueiri of L’Oréal.
23 FF Awards 24 FF Awards 25 Awards
Firmenich’s Jerry Vittoria with Guillaume de Lesquen of L’Oréal. L’Oréal’s David Suffit with Givaudan’s Yara Karmiloff and Olivier Gillotin. SGD’s Peter Acerra and Shéhérazade Chamlou (2nd r.) with L’Oréal’s Stephanie Martins and Avon’s Lance Mald.
26 FF Awards 27 FF Awards 28 FF Awards
LVMH’s Lisa Hawkins, Nicholas Munafo and Terry Darland. LVMH’s Bettina Bamberger P&G’s Dennis Curran and Betsy Bluestone.
29 FF Awards 30 FF Awards 31 FF Awards
P&G’s Kim Yates Chanel’s Eric Hogan and Evelyn Couzijn, Lord & Taylor’s Barbara Zinn Moore and Lynn Scherer (r.) and Danyelle Boilard of Clarins. Chanel’s Stephanie Dishart Kramer and Kate Babb Shone (r.) with Leah Wyar of Cosmopolitan.
See more photos in CW June 24, 2013 issue    

If you are interested in advertising in Cosmetic World, please contact: Debra Davis 212-840-8800 x245