L’Oréal Scientists Worth It
Ambassador François Delattre, Speaker Christine Quinn and L’Oréal USA’s Frederic Rozé.

On September 13, L’Oréal USA fêted five post-doctoral female scientists as part of its long-running For Women in Science program.

Created in 2003, the initiative awards fellowships to promising female scientists across the country whose breakthrough work addresses global challenges and could potentially aid millions of people around the world.

This year’s program, held at The Morgan Library and Museum in midtown Manhattan, featured honorary guests City Council Speaker Christine Quinn and the Ambassador of France to the United States, François Delattre. The ceremony was presided over by L’Oréal USA executive vice president Rebecca Caruso as well as Dr. Shirley Malcolm, head of the directorate of education at the human resources program for the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), which has partnered with L’Oréal on the event.

2 L'Oreal
Fellows: Drs. Joanna Kelley, Christina Agapakis, Erin Marie Williams, Jacyln Winter and Lilian Childress.

Among this year’s honorees are: Christina Agapakis, a synthetic biologist; Lilian Childress, a Yale physicist; Stanford geneticist Joanna Lynne Kelley; anthropologist Erin Marie Williams; and biochemist Jaclyn Winter. Each fellow will receive up to $60,000 to fund their post-doctoral research as well as professional development workshops for network-building facilitated by the AAAS.

The L’Oréal USA Fellowships For Women In Science is the American component to the company’s global L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science program, which was founded in 1998 and has subsequently recognized 67 laureates—two of whom received the Nobel Prize in 2009. Additionally, the program has awarded 864 total fellowships to young women scientists from 93 countries worldwide.


If you are interested in advertising in Cosmetic World, please contact: Debra Davis 212-840-8800 x245